Out of this weeks readings,  I found the article by Lambert about The Great Awakening to be most interesting.  As I said in my introduction post, I’ve never been too interested in history, so The Great Awakening is something I have heard about but never really learned about so this was a good opportunity for me.  I found it interesting because I had no idea that religion was something that was “advertised” as much as George Whitefield had made it.  I also thought it was a little strange that so many people listened and agreed with what he was preaching when he traveled to the colonies.  He seemed to create quite the following.  I’m not a person that usually discusses religion or takes an interest to religion topics but I did find it interesting that this revival for these groups led them to being able to stand up for themselves when it came to their government.  I think it helped give them a sense of power and confidence that maybe they didn’t have before.

2 thoughts on “Great Awakening

  1. That’s something that I’ve always found strange too! You read a lot about religion in history, and I’ve always thought it was interesting that so many people convert to different religions so readily in the past. I just imagine that there are a lot of outside circumstances that aren’t as relevant today. Living without the luxuries we have today probably made life a lot more bleak back then. I think when people are the most down is when they are looking toward their religion for help, though, so it does make some sense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

