I’ll start with a little bit of information on myself.  I am an athletic training major and I plan to go to physical therapy school after I graduate.  I’ll be honest, history has not always been a strong point for me, so I’ll definitely be learning a lot in this class.  I do think history is important in many aspects, not just US History, but any type of history.  Everyone has a different career path and it’s important to know the history behind what we plan to do in the future.  It gives us a better understanding of why we do what we do, or even why we don’t do certain things.  US History tells us a lot about where we come from and how beliefs and traditions have changed over time.

One thought on “Introduction

  1. Understanding that History has a plethora of categories to choose from, and how it can correlate to the professions we choose has an impact I believe, on how an individual ties themselves and skills to what type of History may have started the movement for that profession. One example I enjoy using in any of my analogies between sports medicine and history is Hippocrates, and how in the time in Athens with the gladiators and games is when sports medicine was created.

    Like

Leave a Reply

